top of page

AUB Presentation

In accordance with the relevant provision of the United Nations Charter and the charter of the African Union on the establishment of culture and scientific institutions, the African Union of Broadcasting (AUB) was established in 1962 as the Union of National Radio and Television Organization of African States (URTNA) and renamed African Union of Broadcasting at the 2006 URTNA's General Assembly held, in Abuja.

The AUB is a professional body composed of Radio and Television Organizations of African States that are committed to the development of all aspects of broadcasting in Africa.

An active member of the World Broadcasting Union (WBU), the AUB has more than 54 members across Africa as well as participating and associate members based outside the continent.

Initially limited to public service broadcasters, changes in the media landscape have led to its opening up to private and innovative media.
It encourages the exchange of programmes via satellite; strives to obtain preferential satellite tariffs to facilitate news broadcast; represents the African point of view on legal matters such as conventions and agreements; and works with other important partners.
The AUB is comprised of the following 3 areas:

  • The General Assembly

  • The Executive Council

  • Specialized Commissions

The General Assembly

The General Assembly which is the supreme body of the Union possesses all the powers necessary to achieve the objectives of the Union and adopts its own rules of procedure. The General Assembly meets once a year in ordinary session.

The Executive Council

The Executive Council is composed of:

  • The President

  • Three Vice-Presidents

  • Representatives of  5 geographic  zones

  • Representative of the member organization from the country that hosts the Head Office

  • The Chief Executive Officer (CEO)


Specialized Commissions

The Specialized Commissions are:

  • Programme Commission

  • Training and Technology Commission

  • Marketing, Sales and Communications Commission

  • Administrative, Legal and Financial Commission.

The competence of the specialized commission extends to all matters relating to the fields which have been assigned to them for study by the Executive Council or the General Assembly.

bottom of page